About the Program

About the Program

Named in honor of Herman B Wells, Indiana University’s beloved 11th president, the Wells Scholarship pays the full cost of attendance for four years of undergraduate study on IU’s Bloomington campus. Scholars may choose to spend one of these years studying abroad through the university’s overseas study programs.

Each year, between 18 and 22 incoming freshmen receive the award, based solely on merit. In addition, one to two current IUB students are selected to join the junior or senior class of Scholars.

Wells Scholars are also members of the Hutton Honors College, where they can apply for grants in support of research, internships, creative activity, conference travel, and honors thesis work.

Wells Scholars have been invited to meals and small-group gatherings with notable campus guests such as:

  • U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Batman films producer Michael Uslan
  • Former astronaut and U.S. Senator Harrison H. “Jack” Schmitt
  • Nobel-Prize winning physicist and later U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu
  • Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Thomas Friedman
  • UN Human Rights Committee Member Ivan Shearer
  • Australian High Court Justice Michael Kirby
  • Nigerian writer and Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka
  • Award-winning choreographer Bill T. Jones
  • Former U.S. Ambassador to Pakistan and Laos Wendy Chamberlin
  • Pulitzer Prize-, Tony-, and Emmy-winning writer Tony Kushner